Our Mission

The mission of the Society is to promote the discovery, advancement, and dissemination of basic and translational knowledge in experimental pathology and related disciplines. This shall be achieved by fostering investigation into the pathogenesis, classification, diagnosis, and manifestations of disease through meetings, publications, and educational activities.

Learn More

Congratulations to Our Newly Elected Leaders

Pilar AlcaideVice-President
Pilar Alcaide, PhD
Tufts University School of Medicine
Boston, MA

Andrei IvanovProgram Chair-Elect
Andrei Ivanov, PhD
Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, OH

Elaine BearerRSPC Chair-Elect
Elaine Bearer, MD, PhD
University of New Mexico Health Science Center
Albuquerque, NM


Heather FrancisPublications Chair
Heather Francis, PhD
Indiana University
Indianapolis, IN

Veronica Contreras-ShannonCommittee for Career Development Chair
Veronica Contreras-Shannon, PhD
St. Mary's University
San Antonio, TX

Julie Randolph-HabeckerEducation Chair
Julie Randolph-Habecker, PhD
Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
Yakima, WA


Linda McManusMeritorious Awards Committee
Linda McManus, PhD
The University of Texas Health Science Center - San Antonio
College Station, TX

Sharon DeMorrowMeritorious Awards Committee
Sharon DeMorrow, PhD
The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX

Jayanta DebnathMeritorious Awards Committee
Jayanta Debnath, MD
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA


Patricia D’AmoreNominating Committee
Patricia D’Amore, PhD
Schepens Eye Research Institute of Mass. Eye & Ear, Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

David WilliamsNominating Committee
David Williams, MD, PhD
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC

Why Join

For Trainees

ASIP Trainee membership is available for students enrolled in an undergraduate program and who support the mission and aims of the Society.

Join Now

Why Renew

For Members

Now is the time to renew your commitment to ASIP and renew your membership.

Join Now

2023 Meritorious Award Recipients

Peter M. Howley, MD

2023 Gold-Headed Cane Recipient:

Peter M. Howley, MD
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

William G. Stetler-Stevenson, MD, PhD

2023 Rous-Whipple Award Recipient:

William G. Stetler-Stevenson, MD, PhD
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Qin Yan, PhD

2023 Outstanding Investigator Award Recipient:

Qin Yan, PhD
Associate Professor of Pathology
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT

Clifford V. Harding III, MD, PhD

2023 Robbins Distinguished Educator Award Recipient:

Clifford V. Harding III, MD, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH


Ronen Sumagin, PhD

2023 Cotran Early Career Investigator Award Recipient:

Ronen Sumagin, PhD
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL

Roberto Mota Alvidrez, MD

2023 Young Scientist Leadership Award Recipient:

Roberto Mota Alvidrez, MD
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Linda M. McManus, PhD

2023 ASIP Frieda Robscheit-Robbins Award for Exceptional Achievement in the Advancement of Women in Experimental Pathology Recipient:

Linda M. McManus, PhD
University of Texas at San Antonio
San Antonio, TX

Jennifer A. Sanders, PhD

2023 ASIP Marilyn G. Farquhar Early Career Award for Exceptional Achievement in the Advancement of Women in Experimental Pathology Recipient:

Jennifer A. Sanders, PhD
Brown University
Providence, RI