ASIP Rous-Whipple Award

2023 Application Submission Deadline:

Please check the ASIP website for news and information on our award application deadlines.

Direct all Inquiries to:

Francis Peyton Rous

George WhippleGeorge Whipple

First awarded in 1976, the ASIP Rous-Whipple Award was established in honor of the Presidents of the American Society for Experimental Pathology (ASEP) and the American Association of Pathologists and Bacteriologists (AAPB) when the coalesced societies emerged as the American Association of Pathologists (AAP, which was later renamed the ASIP in 1992).

The ASIP Rous-Whipple Award is presented to a senior scientist with a distinguished career in research who has advanced the understanding of disease and has continued productivity at the time of the award. The Meritorious Awards Committee will consider the published record of peer-reviewed research and overall impact of the nominee’s science, mentorship, and participation of the candidate and protègès in ASIP scientific meetings. There is no age eligibility requirement for this award. However, prior experience suggests that most successful awardees will be 50+ years old at the time of nomination.

The selected awardee will deliver an Award Lecture at the ASIP Annual Meeting. In addition, the awardee will submit a manuscript based on their award lecture that will form the basis of a peer-reviewed publication in The American Journal of Pathology. Eligible candidates for the ASIP Rous-Whipple Award must be an ASIP member in continuous good standing for at least five years immediately prior to nomination. Awardees receive a commemorative plaque. The selected awardee will be honored during the ASIP 2022 Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology in Philadelphia, PA (April 2-5, 2022).

Nominations for the ASIP Rous-Whipple Award should include:

  1. Three letters of recommendation, including at least two from current ASIP members. Letters of recommendation should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.
  2. The Nominee's curriculum vitae (CV), including a complete bibliography of published research. The nominee’s CV should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.





William G. Stetler-Stevenson, MD, PhD 2023
William G. Stetler-Stevenson, MD, PhD

Arlene H. Sharpe, MD, PhD 2022
Arlene H. Sharpe, MD, PhD

George Perry, PhD 2021
George Perry, PhD


Gabriel Nunez 2019
Gabriel Nuñez, MD

Charles N. Serhan 2018
Charles N. Serhan




Michael A. Gimbrone, Jr. 2008
Michael A. Gimbrone, Jr.

Abul Abbas 2007
Abul K. Abbas

Steven L. Teitelbaum 2006
Steven L. Teitelbaum


Peter Howley 2004
Peter M. Howley


2003 Janardan K. Reddy
2002 Harold F. Dvorak
2001 Marilyn G. Farquhar
2000 Errol C. Friedberg
1999 Francis V. Chisari
1998 Emil R. Unanue
1997 Richard G. Lynch
1996 Peter A. Ward
1995 Thomas S. Edgington
1994 N. K. Gonatas
1993 Michael B. A. Oldstone
1992 Russell Ross
1991 H. L. Moses
1990 R. Baserga
1989 Vincent T. Marchesi
1988 Hans J. Muller-Eberhard
1987 E. L. Becker
1986 Peter C. Nowell
1985 B. Benacerraf
1984 Paul E. Lacy
1983 G. Barry Pierce
1982 E. Farber
1981 Morris J. Karnovsky
1980 Earl P. Benditt
1979 Frank Dixon
1977 R. T. Prehn
1976 Jacob Furth