ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Award


ASIP 2025 Meritorious Awards Application Deadline
December 15, 2023 
11:59 PM (ET)

Professional Timeline for Qualification for ASIP Awards

Direct all inquiries to:


Stanley Robbins Stanley L. Robbins, MD

Award Description: The ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Award recognizes individuals whose contributions to education in pathology have had a manifest impact at a regional, national, or international level. The award is named in honor of Dr. Stanley L. Robbins and was originally established through an unrestricted educational grant from Elsevier. This award will be conferred on a senior ASIP member with demonstrated exceptional achievement in pathology education during their career. The Meritorious Awards Committee will consider nominees’ exemplary contributions to education in pathology, which might include but are not limited to: (i) design of innovative or improved educational platforms, curricula, or training programs, (ii) leadership in strategic planning or administration of educational initiatives, (iii) development of widely disseminated educational materials, such as textbooks, laboratory manuals, and software, (iv) development of training/education in investigative pathobiology at the undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate levels, and (v) documented achievements in mentoring (junior faculty, undergraduate students, predoctoral trainees, postdoctoral fellows, or clinical fellows). The ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Awardee is presented each year at the ASIP Annual Meeting.

Award Eligibility: Eligible candidates for the ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Award must be an active ASIP member in continuous good standing for at least five years immediately prior to nomination. The typical nominee for the Robbins Distinguished Educator Award will have accumulated substantial accomplishments in pathology education and will be mid-career or senior investigators (Associate Professor or full Professor or equivalent). In some cases, nominees may be inactive (retired or partially retired). Nominees should have sustained and significant contributions to the Society (through leadership and/or participation in Society activities/programs).  

Nominations for the ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Award should include:

  1. The nominee's curriculum vitae (CV), including a complete bibliography of published research. The nominee’s CV should include all the typical elements (contributions to research, mentorship, leadership), but should emphasize contributions to pathology education. The nominee’s CV should also a description of the nominee’s contributions to the ASIP. The nominee’s CV should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.
  2. Three letters of support, including at least two from current ASIP members. Letters of support should emphasize the nominee’s exemplary contributions to education in pathology, and may address other aspects of the nominee’s career (research, mentoring, leadership, and engagement in the ASIP). Letters of support should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.

Scoring Rubric: ASIP Robbins Distinguished Educator Award nomination packages will be scored based upon exemplary contributions to pathology education (1) conducted at the nominee’s institution, (2) conducted through national/international forums, (3) development of innovative curricula or other materials that support pathology education, and (4) contributions to the educational mission of the ASIP.


Clifford V. Harding III, MD, PhD 2023
Clifford V. Harding III, MD, PhD

Satdarshan (Paul) Singh Monga, MD 2022
Satdarshan (Paul) Singh Monga, MD

Linda M. McManus, PhD 2021
Linda M. McManus, PhD


Gregory Tsongalis, PhD 2019
Gregory Tsongalis, PhD

Emanuel Rubin 2018
Emanuel Rubin