ASIP Gold-Headed Cane Award


ASIP 2024 Meritorious Awards Application Deadline:
Sunday, January 15, 2023 (11:59 PM ET)

PISA 2023 Awards Application Deadline:
Friday, April 21, 2023 (11:59 PM ET)

ASIP 2023 Annual Meeting Awards Application Deadline
Friday, July 21, 2023 (11:59 PM ET)


Professional Timeline for Qualification for ASIP Awards

Direct all inquiries to:


Award Description: The ASIP Gold-Headed Cane Award is the society's oldest and most prestigious award. It was first given in 1919 and has been awarded on 71 occasions (including the 2022 award) since that time. This award recognizes significant long-term (lifetime) contributions to the field of pathology. The Meritorious Awards Committee will consider the nominee’s meritorious experimental pathology research, outstanding teaching, general excellence in the discipline, demonstrated leadership in the field of pathology, and engagement in the activities of the Society. The ASIP Gold-Headed Cane Award is presented each year at the ASIP Annual Meeting.

Award Eligibility: Eligible candidates for the ASIP Gold Headed Cane Award must be an active ASIP member in continuous good standing for at least five years immediately prior to nomination. The typical nominee for the Gold-Headed Cane Award will be a senior scientist (full Professor or equivalent), and can be an active investigator or inactive (retired or partially retired). Nominees should have sustained and significant contributions to the Society (through leadership and/or participation in Society activities/programs).

Nominations for the ASIP Gold-Headed Cane Award should include:

  1. The nominee's curriculum vitae (CV), including a complete bibliography of published research. The nominee’s CV should include clear descriptions of contributions to research, teaching, leadership (including institutional leadership and leadership in the wider field of pathology), and contributions to the ASIP. The nominee’s CV should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.
  2. Three letters of support, including at least two from current ASIP members. Letters of support should address each element considered for the award, including meritorious experimental pathology research, outstanding teaching, general excellence in the discipline, demonstrated leadership in the field of pathology, and engagement in the activities of the ASIP. Letters of support should be updated in subsequent years if the nomination is renewed.

Scoring Rubric: ASIP Gold-Headed Cane Award nomination packages will be scored based upon: (1) the meritorious nature and impact of the experimental pathology research conducted by the nominee and their research group, (2) contributions to pathology education/teaching conducted at the nominee’s institution and/or through national/international forums, (3) leadership in the field of pathology (including departmental/institutional leadership and leadership on the national/international stage), (4) accomplishments in mentorship and training, (5) contributions to the ASIP, and (6) strength of letters of support.



Peter M. Howley, MD 2023
Peter M. Howley, MD

Elaine S. Jaffe, MD 2022
Elaine S. Jaffe, MD

Abul Abbas, MD 2021
Abul Abbas, MD


Vinay Kumar, MBBS 2019
Vinay Kumar, MBBS, MD, FRCPath



Emanuel Rubin 2008
Emanuel Rubin


Robert Jennings 2007
Robert B. Jennings

Michael Lieberman 2006
Michael W. Lieberman

Henry Pitot 2005
Henry Pitot

Michael Lamm 2004
Michael E. Lamm



Baruj Benacerraf1996
Baruj Benacerraf


1995 E. Farber and Paul E. Lacy
1994 Morris J. Karnovsky
1993 L. G. Koss
1992 S. L. Robbins
1991 G. Barry Pierce
1990 Robert E. Stowell
1989 Guido Majno
1988 L. Thomas
1987 Frank Dixon
1986 L. Ackerman
1985 P. J. Fitzgerald
1984 Earl P. Benditt
1983 Robert W. Wissler
1982 H. Zimmerman
1981 Kenneth M. Brinkhous
1980 E. D. Warner
1979 A. T. Hertig
1978 Harold L. Stewart
1977 Thomas D. Kinney
1976 Hans Popper
1975 Wiley D. Forbus
1973 John G. Kidd
1972 Sidney Farber
1971 Esmond R. Long
1970 Alan Richards Moritz
1969 Shields Warren
1968 Stanhope Bayne-Jones
1967 Jean Oliver
1966 Harry Goldblatt
1965 Paul Cannon
1964 Peyton Rous
1962 William Boyd