Awards & Honors

The Pathobiology 2024 Annual Meeting Awards Application Deadline:
Thursday, February 15, 2024 (11:59 PM ET)

The ASIP Awards Program was founded in 1919 when ASIP (then the American Association of Pathologists and Bacteriologists) awarded the very first Gold-Headed Cane Award to Harold C. Ernst in recognition of long-term contributions to pathology, including meritorious research, outstanding teaching, general excellence in the field, and leadership in pathology. Since then the program has grown  and currently offers Meritorious Awards, Junior Faculty Scholar Awards and Trainee Scholar Awards to recognize outstanding achievements in every membership category.

Trainee Travel Awards (for undergraduate students, pre- and post-doctoral trainees) and Junior Faculty Travel Awards are selected competitively based on abstract submissions to the ASIP Annual Meeting.

Meritorious Award winners are selected by the ASIP Meritorious Awards Committee. The Meritorious Awards Committee is one of the oldest standing committees of the Society and is currently chaired by the President-Elect. The six members of the committee, who are directly elected by the membership, review all candidates for the six Meritorious Awards each year.