emailContact Us    ASIP MEMBER ACCESS    Become a Supporter    News    Job Seekers/Employers    facebookGoogle+twitterinstagramlinkedinflickrYoutube

Donate to ASIP


Download Donation Form pdf

Make a Donation Online

ASIP Young Scientist Leadership Award

About ASIP
The mission of the Society is to promote the discovery, advancement, and dissemination of basic and translational knowledge in experimental pathology and related disciplines. This shall be achieved by fostering investigation into the pathogenesis, classification, diagnosis, and manifestations of disease through meetings, publications, and educational activities.

The American Society for Investigative Pathology (ASIP) is a society of biomedical scientists who investigate mechanisms of disease. Investigative pathology is an integrative discipline that links the presentation of disease in the whole organism to its fundamental cellular and molecular mechanisms. Investigative pathology uses a variety of structural, functional, and genetic techniques and ultimately applies research findings to the diagnosis and treatment of diseases. ASIP advocates for the practice of investigative pathology and fosters the professional career development and education of its members.

ASIP is a member of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB), a coalition of 27 independent societies that plays an active role in lobbying for the interests of over 120,000 biomedical scientists.

Abraham David Sobel - ASIP Education Fund

A.D. Sobel - ASIP Education Fund

Abraham David Sobel was born on September 29, 1909 and died on his 98th birthday. Mark Sobel, ASIP's Executive Officer, has established the Abraham David Sobel-ASIP Education Fund to perpetuate his father's lifelong interest in supporting education and training for young scientists. The Fund is used to support education and mentorship of trainee members of the ASIP.

A.D. Sobel - ASIP Education Fund Scholar Awards

A.D. Sobel - ASIP Education Fund Travel Awardees

ASIP Summer Academy
Societá Italiana di Patologia (SIP) National Congress

ASIP Young Scientist Leadership Award (formerly the Excellence in Science Award)

To date, over 100 individuals and 7 institutions/organizations have contributed over $75,000 to the A. D. Sobel-ASIP Education Fund. Funds have supported trainee travel to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology, the Italian Society of Pathology and Translational Medicine (SIPMeT) National Congress, the ASIP Summer Academy, and the first three Marcos Rojkind-ASIP Trainee Travel Awards. (Effective 2015, a separate fund, largely supported by Satdarshan Paul S. Monga will support excellence in liver pathobiology trainee research.) The Fund also supports the ASIP Young Scientist Leadership Award, which recognizes trainee volunteer service to ASIP and outstanding research achievements at the earliest stages of a career in biomedical research. In 2015, the A. D. Sobel-ASIP Education Fund is also funding the Continuing Medical Education component of the ASIP Annual Meeting.

ASIP thanks the following individuals and organizations for their lifetime contributions to this fund:





  • Mark E. Sobel
  • Jacob J. Steinberg
  • Anonymous
  • Lilian Calderon-Garciduenas
  • Stephen J. Galli
  • S. Paul Monga
  • Kevin A. Roth
  • Gregory J. Tsongalis

  • Bonita Bryant
  • Stanley Cohen
  • Martha Furie
  • Elizabeth Galbreath
  • A. Tyl Hewitt
  • Linda McManus
  • George Michalopoulos
  • Mark Pinkel
  • William Stetler-Stevenson
  • Elizabeth Whitley



Bronze Donations up to $100
  • Seena Aisner
  • Ann Marie Bocus
  • Arnold Brody
  • Wayne Buck
  • Keith Cheng
  • Ida Chow
  • Arthur I. Cohen
  • Marion C. Cohen
  • Charles C. Congdon
  • Domenico Coppola
  • Salome Creighton
  • Daniel Dion
  • Luisa DiPietro
  • Robert Fairchild
  • Carol Farver
  • Robert Folberg
  • Larry J. Fowler
  • Berhane Ghebrehiwet
  • Avrum I. Gotlieb
  • Yael Greenberg
  • Anne Hamburger
  • Vallie M. Holloway
  • Renato Iozzo
  • Russell Jaffe
  • Karen Kaul
  • David Korn
  • Gundega Korsts
  • Francis W. Luscinskas
  • Nadia Malouf
  • Karen Mann
  • Mary McGarvey
  • Maria Merino
  • Fran Pitlick
  • Elaine Rubin
  • Marlene Sabbath-Solitare
  • Tara Sander
  • Julian Sanz-Ortega
  • Lauren & Marc Shenfield
  • Gene P. Siegal
  • William Sobel
  • Ronald P. Spark
  • Steven L. Spitalnik
  • Ivan Stamenkovic
  • Mary Sunday
  • Nancy Thompson
  • John Tomaszewski
  • Wei-Min Tong
  • Elizabeth Unger
  • Nissi Varki
  • W. James Waldman
  • Nancy Warner
  • Mary Steele Williams
  • Cecelia Yates
  • Xiao-min Yin
  • Dani and Erik Zander
  • Arthur Zeiger

  • Prince Awuah
  • Roger Bick
  • Marianna J. Bledsoe
  • Gary A. Boorman
  • Gerald Campbell
  • Joseph Corson
  • David Dicheck
  • James Douglas
  • Fred Gorstein
  • Ralph Green
  • William Hare
  • Hisashi Horiguchi
  • Elaine Jaffe
  • Serge Jothy
  • Lester Kobzik
  • Wolfgang Koenig
  • Lantz Mackey
  • Hiroshi Matsumoto
  • Danny Milner
  • Richard Mitchell
  • William Muller
  • Ludvik Peric-Golia
  • Robert G. Schaub
  • Kenneth R. Shroyer
  • Patrick M. Sluss
  • Tara A. Snethen
  • Lynn Sorbara
  • Robert Stern
  • Mary Stracke
  • Stacey Taylor
  • Lawrence True
  • Maria Tsokos
  • Heather Ward
  • Jeffrey Wisotzkey


Supporting Institutions

  • FASEB Executive Officers Advisory Committee
  • Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)
  • International Society for Analytical and Molecular Morphology (ISAMM)
  • Lanquest
  • University of Kansas School of Medicine Dept of Pathology & Lab Medicine
  • University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine Dept of Pathology &
  • Laboratory Medicine
  • University of Toronto Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology