emailContact Us    ASIP Members Access    Become a Supporter    News    Job Seekers/Employers    facebookGoogle+twitterinstagramlinkedinflickr

> Awards Home Page

Meritorious Awards

Gold-Headed Cane
Outstanding Investigator
Cotran Early Career Investigator
Young Scientist Leadership
--Formerly the Excellence in Science Award--
Robbins Distinguished Educator

ASIP Junior Faculty Awards

ASIP Junior Faculty Award
ASIP Junior Faculty Award to attend ASIP Annual Meeting at EB
ASIP Junior Faculty Award to attend PISA 2015

ASIP Trainee Travel Awards

Experimental Pathologist-in-Training (EPIT)
Experimental Pathologist-in-Graduate-Training (EPIGT)
ASIP Annual Meeting Trainee Travel Award
ASIP Trainee Travel Award for Late-breaking Abstracts
A.D. Sobel-ASIP Education Fund
Hans-Monga Family Trainee Travel
Marcos Rojkind-Monga ASIP Trainee Travel
Gotlieb Undergraduate Student Travel Award
(Funded by Gotlieb Family Fund for Undergraduate Education in Pathobiology)
Under-Represented Groups (URG) Trainee Travel
The Histochemical Society Sponsored Trainee Travel Award to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology
ASIP International Trainee Travel Award
The American Society for Investigative Pathology - American Physician Scientists Association Partnership Trainee Travel Award to attend the ASIP Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology

Other Awards

American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP) Trainee Travel Award
Intersociety Council for Pathology Information (ICPI) Trainee Travel Award
SIPMet Young Investigator Award to Attend the ASIP Annual Meeting
ASIP Summer Research Opportunity Program in Pathology (SROPP)

FASEB Excellence in Science Award
Immunohistochemistry and Microscopy Short Course


ASIP Young Scientist Leadership Award Recipients (Beginning in 2014)

  • 2016 Christi Kolarcik, PhD
  • 2015 David Sullivan, PhD PDF
  • 2014 Kari Nejak-Bowen PDF

ASIP Excellence In Science Award Recipients

  • 2013 Christopher R. Weber PDF
  • 2012 Edward B. Lee PDF
  • 2011 Cecelia Yates PDF
  • 2010 Ashley G. Rivenbark PDF
  • 2009 Jonathan Lin, MD, PhD PDF



More Information about Meritorious Awards PDF


Constanza Gonzalez
Project Coordinator
cgonzalez at asip dot org > Awards & Honors > Meritorious > Young Scientist Leadership

ASIP Young Scientist Leadership Award
(Formerly the ASIP Excellence In Science Award)
A.D. Sobel - ASIP Education Fund

Provided through the generous support of the A.D. Sobel - ASIP Education Fund

This new ASIP award recognizes outstanding and sustained achievements at the earliest stages of a career in biomedical research. Accomplishments should include volunteered service to the ASIP and scientific publications and presentations. At the time of nomination, awardees must have engaged in no more than 5 years of postgraduate research since receiving the PhD, MD, or equivalent degree and should not yet have a faculty appointment. Awardees will receive an stipend and a plaque that will be presented at the ASIP Annual Business Meeting. Nominations for the award require: 1) three letters of recommendation, including at least two from members of the Society; 2) the candidate's curriculum vitae including bibliography; and 3) ASIP membership in good standing for at least two years (as a trainee or regular member).

Award Lecture (15 minutes) presented at Annual Meeting during the Highlights: Graduate Student Research in Pathology Session.

Nominations for ASIP 2017 Meritorious Awards

The Deadline was October 1, 2015


For more information on ASIP Meritorious Awards contact Constanza Gonzalez,